RSS Feed

Face Favorites + Everyday Makeup Routine

We are officially entering the doldrums of winter, a time when your face needs a little extra TLC. I’ve turned to these two Ah-mazing products:

1. Nivea Active Purifying Mask:

DSC_0452

This is without a doubt the gentlest exfoliant I’ve ever used. This bright blue mask sat on my face for over 30 minutes, and while it did set a bit, it never dried or cracked the way some mud-type masks do. When I rinsed this with lukewarm water, I was amazed to see my skin looking like a freakin’ face commercial! Usually any type of “purifying” or “deep cleaning” masks leaves my super-sensitive skin red and angry, but not this one. My skin felt seriously clean and soft after using this. I will definitely repurchase and add this to my weekly routine! HIGHLY recommended!

2. L’oreal Paris Revitalift Total Repair 10 Night Cream

DSC_0453

The beauty biz has been buzzing about this product for some time, having won several awards for its effectiveness in a series of independent tests in the spring of last year. I finally picked this up at the beginning of December, and started using a tiny amount every-other night (under Josie Maran’s Argan oil). I have finally worked up to using it every night, and WOW is it amazing. My face feels plump in the morning, and no, not just from the nutella-stuffed french toast thank you very much. This stuff is seriously hydrating, but also is chock-full of gentle exfoliants so you wake up to glowing skin. Love.

3. (From left to right) L’oreal Paris Color Riche Les Ombres Eyeshadow Quad in Beige Trench; Maybelline New York Expert Wear Blush in Sweet Cinnamon (one of my all time favorite cheek colors); Revlon Eyelash Curler; Rimmel Lonon Wake Me Up Concealer in Ivory; Make Up Forever Full Cover Waterproof Extreme Camouflage Cream in 1; L’oreal Paris Mega Volume Collagen 24 hr Mascara; Maybelline Eyebrow Pencil in Light Blonde; Prestige Eyeliner Pencil in Black; M.Cosmetics Powder Brush

DSC_0455

I’ve updated my make-up routine, editing out foundation. I go through phases (typically in the middle of winter and again in the middle of summer) when foundation just doesn’t work for me. I’m too pale to color-match and I get paranoid about flaking, so I just stick to concealer. The Rimmel concealer goes on under my eyes, on my chin, and on my cheeks–everywhere I need to even out my skin tone. The heavy duty Makeup For Ever concealer is only used on serious spots–the broken capillaries I have scattered around my face, the sides of my nose that are rudolph-red from constant nose blowing, and on any blemishes that pop up.

The black liner is only used on my water-line on my upper lid, and dotted throughout my lower lashes in lieu of mascara. The blush is one of the prettiest colors ever–a deep burnt rose, bordering on tawny, with microscopic gold flecks, it is the perfect way to get sun-kissed color in the dead of winter. I apply it with the fluffy brush above to bring a healthy wash of color to my cheecks and temples.

Photo 9

Have you updated your routine this winter?

xo

C

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

Leave a Reply

