RSS Feed

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

This soup here? Right here?

It’s the answers to all of a winter’s night’s biggest questions. What’s for dinner? This soup. How can I clear my sinuses? This soup. What will warm me up without breaking the bank or making me itch/sweat/ugly? This soup.

Smoky and spicy, this hearty soup is filled with rice and topped with pepitos. If I could find black beans in Denmark, I certainly would have added those as well. And a dollop of sour cream would also complement this perfectly. But, alas, I used what I had on hand, which was pretty basic.

Giving the peppers a little rub down…Nate was jealous.

Ingredients:

-6 cups stock (I used vegetable, but chicken would work and beef would be best)

-6 large red peppers (I used 14 of the super skinny kind)

-2 medium onions, chopped

-2 cloves garlic, minced

-1 cup chopped carrots (I used about 8 baby carrots)

-1 heaping tsp cumin

-1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

-1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary (1 tsp dried)

-2 tbsp chopped fresh basil (2 tsp dried)

-1/4 cup whole milk or heavy cream

-olive oil

-salt and pepper to taste

-1 to 2 cups cooked rice (I used brown)

-handful of pepitos as garnish

This recipe is based off of The Joy of Cooking’s Roasted Red Pepper Soup, but I added the southwestern flair because I am one-quarter Mexican*.

How to:

1. Cut peppers in half and remove seeds. Lay on baking sheet cut side down. Brush with olive oil and broil until skin is blistered, 5-10 minutes.

2. In large stock pot, saute onion, carrot, and garlic until golden but NOT brown, approximately 10 minutes.

3. Once peppers have cooled enough to handle, peel the skins off and discard. (I stupidly ignored the Joy of Cooking’s suggestion to place hot peppers in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap for 15 minutes. De-skinning was a bitch, but in the end the little bits I couldn’t remove were blended into oblivion, so there’s no real need to obsess…)

4. Add the peppers, spices, and stock to the stockpot and bring to a boil. Partially cover and reduce to simmer for 20-30 minutes.

5. Remove from heat and add the milk or cream. Blend in batches or use an immersion blender to blend until smooth.

6. Add cooked rice, stir.

7. Add salt and pepper to taste.

8. Serve and garnish with pepitos, black beans, or sour cream.

*The other three-quarters are mash-up of Italian, Southern BBQ, and County Fair fried-dough deliciousness.

Before…

After.

Thanks, Nate, for growing fresh herbs for me!

Enjoy!

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

4 responses »

  1. what’s in the salad? looks fabulous also. LOVE the fresh herbs, they look so great growing in the dead of winter! Anything to take away from the winter blahs………..do you get those in Denmark?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

