RSS Feed

Sooo Over Under Eye Circles

Nothing kills your complexion quite like dark under eye circles. It’s impossible to look radiant when the windows to your soul are anchored by inch-wide purple panes. The past month (literally–four weeks) I have traveled to Vienna, Munich, Ann Arbor, and Zurich, which has left me run down and exhausted. To combat the under eye blues, I’ve turned to the following arsenal of products:

I’m pretty excited about this product. The active ingredients (mulberry root extract, green tea, vitamins A and C, caffeine, milk protein, yeast extract, mushroom extract, and sodium chloride) have a solid track record of attacking all elements of under eye circles…namely, thin skin, pigmentation, and dilated veins.

This is definitely pricey, but I bought it at duty free, which following the “area code” rule (thank you, Ludacris) doesn’t count. Especially because I bought it in Swiss Francs, which looks like Monopoly money.

See? Anyway, so far I have really liked Clinque’s Even Better Eyes. It is oil free so it soaks in immediately and is easy to layer under makeup. Which leads me to my foundation du jour…

This is a heavy base, but it blends so beautifully you really can make it quite light. I picked this up to wear for Jessica and James’ wedding, but have reached for it just about every day. The foundation is yellow toned, which is so warmifying. I have it in the lightest shade, but it is still a touch too dark. However, like most Rimmel foundations, it works so well into the skin that there is no demarcation line or noticeable difference between my face and neck/chest. I highly recommend checking this one out–I hope it’s in US drugstores!
The final step to lightening and brightening my dreaded bags? A highlighting concealing pen:

This Maybelline concealer is a total rip off of the YSL touche eclat, and I think it’s actually a pretty good dupe. I pat this on OVER my foundation, and it really does help wake up my face. Caution, though: like all light reflecting products, this photographs really unnaturally. Like, Kim Kardashian style:

YIKES! Too light under eyes is almost as bad as dark under eyes, no?

No, no I don’t actually think so. Just trying to make myself feel better as I was mistaken for Wednesday Addams on the street earlier today. Sigh…

xo

 

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

Leave a Reply

