RSS Feed

Hair and Nail Woes

Posted on

After nearly a decade in synthetic nails, I have finally shed the gross habit and gone back to my pitiful, painful, natural nails.*Bottom lip quivering.* I have decided to commit to a full three months of nail rehab, and my first healthy step? Daily biotin (and other skin/hair/nail goodies) in the form of a yummy GNC chew:

I eat two of these babies every evening. I’ve only been taking this supplement for two weeks, so it’s impossible to say whether or not it’s working. But because these are super tasty, I know it’s a habit I’ll keep up.

Step two? Using a daily nail strengthener to mend my horribly brittle, peeling nails. I did quite a lot of research on the various strengtheners out there, and am so glad I went for the very scarily named Growing Nails with Odorless Garlic:

This truly does not smell of garlic AT ALL, it just reeks like super strong top coat. I’ve also been using this for two weeks and can honestly say I am WOWED! I have tried approximately 100 nail strengtheners and hardeners in my days, and this is the first one that has made a noticeable difference. I put this on clean nails, and then add a coat over my (colored) nail polish every day for four or five days. From the first coat my nails feel thicker and stronger. Most amazing of all? When I take off all the polish on day four, my nail STILL feels thicker and stronger! Although it looks milky in the bottle, it goes on perfectly clear. It dries in less than 5 minutes and has a super-shiny finish.  I’m so excited to see how daily use of this continues to affect my nails. Love!

It has been a looooong time since I got excited by a hair product. Which is perhaps why my love affair with the L’Oreal Sulfate Free Cleansing Conditioner is so passionate!

This stuff is AMAZING! It is used in place of a shampoo, and while it’s fine to follow up with a traditional conditioner on your ends, I doubt you’ll have to. This is not nearly as thick as a conditioner, but doesn’t lather up like a shampoo. I dispense about 10 pumps into my hands and massage on my scalp. I slowly work the product down the hair shaft, usually adding about 5 pumps to get all the way to the ends. Not only does this work super well to cleanse without stripping, it leaves my hair so ridiculously silky soft but not at all weighed down! The best part? The smell! Without a doubt this is THE best smelling hair product of all time. I will continue to repurchase again and again.

Hopefully I’ll be proudly posting pictures of my natural nails/hair by the end of August…or screw it, I’m going back to tips and extensions 😉

xo

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

One response »

  1. I hope you have success with your hair and nail treatments, and never return to fake nails and hair extensions!!

    Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

