RSS Feed

April Favorites

Posted on

The products from my pantry/closet/medicine cabinet I reached for and enjoyed the most throughout the past month…

1. Harney & Sons assorted Iced Teas


These are brilliant. As you can see from the above picture, the tea bags are huge. You brew a super concentrated tea base–just 2 cups–and then add another 6 cups of cold water to your pitcher (or in my case, a giant Ball canning jar). These iced teas come in peach, raspberry, green and black. All are lovely, and I particularly love that the raspberry is an herbal infusion (meaning there are no actual tea leaves in it) so I can have it first thing in the morning on an empty stomach and not worry about getting sick.

2. Cerave SA lotion

Like approximately 50% of the population, I have keratosis pilaris–those tiny red bumps on the back of my arms. The only way to get rid of those dreaded bumps is by using an alpha hydroxy acid to slough them off gently. This lotion is the best over the counter option. I’ve been using it every single morning and every night I don’t use my self tanner in an effort to get smooth skin by tank top season!

3/4. Batiste Dry Shampoo and L’Anza leave in Trauma Treatment

I’m really trying to improve the health of my hair, which means two things: washing it less and protecting it pre-heat styling. I use the Batiste dry shampoo in between washings, and it is hands-down my all time favorite dry shampoo. It’s cheap, smells great, and not at all sticky. The L’anza is absorbed very well by my parched hair, and yet doesn’t weigh it down at all–which is somewhat miraculous considering how fine and thin my hair is.

5. Rimmel Lash Accelerator Serum

Spring allergies have destroyed my poor eyes. I have tiny red sores on the corner of my eyes from constant tearing and rubbing, and my lashes are brittle and dry. This nightly serum has helped my lashes 100%. Not only are my lashes appearing thicker and stronger, but my mascara lasts at least fifty percent longer. While I don’t think this is of the Latisse caliber, it certainly is making my lashes as lush as they can be.

6. The Best Blemish Treatment

Every September and April, my skin breaks out. I don’t get those tiny, easy to conceal blackheads or whiteheads–oh no. My acne announces its arrival days in advance as a deep achy spot that slowly emerges, is about the size of a pencil eraser (or larger), deeply painful, hangs around for a week, and then sloooooowly fades. In other words, THE WORST POSSIBLE KIND OF ZIT. The only thing that keeps me from jumping off the Brooklyn Bridge when this happens? My very own blemish treatment. I liberally cover the offensive spot with a thick dot of cortizone cream, and then slap on a waterproof bandaid (Nexcare is my favorite because–I swear–they are invisible enough on the skin to run basic errands in!) This is nearly as powerful as those expensive cortisone shots celebrities get in their spots on red carpet days. Do this two nights in a row and your blemish should be history. (I even made Nate try this method earlier in the month and now he is a convert, too!)

7. Vincent Longo Liquid Canvas Dew Finish foundation + Neutrogena Healthy Skin bronzer

My new Holy Grail foundation, this Vincent Longo formula is pure perfection. It goes on perfect with just a few swipes of your fingers, and is totally undetectable on the skin. Furthermore, the SPF is an added layer of protection for my super sun-sensitive skin. This range comes in several shades, and I can’t recommend it enough. If you are looking for a very sheer yet buildable foundation, I urge you to check this out. The Neutrogena bronzer adds just the right amount of tan glow to my cheeks and doesn’t have the chunky glitter most bronzers are loaded with.

8. Danskin for Walmart Sport Bra with Foam Inserts

 

OBSESSED. This is the best sports bra. Ever. The removable foam inserts give your girls a little extra boost AND protect from–ahem–headlights. The back is mesh for maximum breathability. And guess how much this cost. C’mon, guess. TWELVE DOLLARS. I need to order approximately 6 more.

9. White River (via Marshall’s) Gold knock off Sperry’s 🙂

From Ann Arbor to LA to San Francisco to Manhattan to the Boogie Down Bronx, I have LIVED in these shoes the past month. They are comfortable and cute, and seem to go with everything. The metallic gold keep them from feeling too preppy. If I find another pair I would totally snatch them up for after this pair dies.

10/11. Baja Shrimp OPI nail polish & stacks of slender rings

All month I’ve been loving this hot coral nail polish. It is the perfect rainy spring day pick-me-up. And I’ve been very into stacking tons of mixed metal tiny rings on several fingers.

I really can’t believe it’s already May! This is a packed month with Cinco de Mayo/Kentucky Derby, Mother’s Day, my brother’s 30th birthday (!!!!), my boyfriend’s birthday, and Memorial Day all back to back. I guess I’ll sleep in June?

xo

 

 

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

2 responses »

  1. as always loved the post…wondering if that alpha hydroxy lotion will work on that splotchy area above my left knee..? truly the bane of my existence. Thanks CMH!

    Reply
    • Hello! If the splotchy area is rough, then YES the CeraveSA lotion will definitely smooth it. And because alpha hydroxy makes you more sensitive to the sun, be sure to put extra SPF on the area during daylight.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

