RSS Feed

Baby Shower: Pat the Bunny Theme

My coworker and friend, Michelle, is pregnant with her first child. I’ve been thinking about her shower for months, and I always knew I wanted to make it a book theme…it seemed fitting for a shower thrown by a bunch of teachers. I considered several classics, but when Michelle shared that she was having a baby girl, I knew I wanted to use “Pat the Bunny” as inspiration…

What is more precious for a baby girl (named Lily!) than peach, robin’s egg blue, and love bunnies!?

For the decorations, I made these flower bombs, medallions, pom-poms, and orbs:

My amazing coworker, Arah, climbed a 6 foot ladder and grouped the decorations in multi-level hangings on the inner corner of each hanging light in my classroom–6 lights in all, so 6 clusters of these babies adorned the room:

All of the decorations were made by hand. I already posted a video on the white tissue paper flowers, and tutorials on the others will soon follow…

The tables looked like this:

I started with white tablecloths, and then layered blue paper and peach ribbon on top. Pink pots (from the dollar store!) and clear vases were filled with cookies and rice krispie treats, and I used free paint guides to label the goodies. “Pat the Bunny” coloring book pictures were available for the artistically inclined. Annie’s bunny-shaped treats were strewn about. And my favorite, a Celtic guide to personalities, with Lily’s (expected) due date…

I found the template on Martha Stewart’s website and printed it on white card stock. It was a huge hit with everyone…It’s always fun to read what your personality ought to be based on your birthday!

Several coworkers contributed food and drinks to the shower, and I baked the desserts. Again, all of the labels were hand-written on paint guides. This is a great tip for entertaining–paint guides come in an endless array of colors and are totally FREE!

(sugar cookies with royal almond icing; rice krispie bunny tails in plain, and peanut-butter-chocolate.)

Recipes to follow…

xo

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

6 responses »

  1. everything looked great, food looked delicious!

    Reply
  2. Outstanding!!!

    Reply
  3. Excited for the salted caramel recipe, YUM!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. PLanning a baby shower – this looks like a great idea. Can’t find the Celtic Guide to Personalities on Mrtha Stewart, would you be able to provide the link or tamplate?
    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

