RSS Feed

Movies to Watch in a Snow Storm

NYC is finally experiencing its first winter weather! Which makes for the perfect excuse to snuggle on the couch with a stack of magazines, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, and a good movie….so basically, it’s just a regular Saturday night.

So what makes for great snowed in entertainment you ask? Three things: equal parts humor and heartache, superb one liners, and Keanu Reeves. Oh, and most importantly, the boyfriend has to approve, which sadly means no “She’s the Man,” “When Harry Met Sally,” or “The Newsies.”

In all honestly, I’m just in the mood to watch an old favorite, a movie that makes me feel like I have a living room full of friends. And here are the 5 films I narrowed it down to tonight…

1. Point Break

Obviously. I mean, the main characters are named Johnny Utah and Bodhi! And Reeves+Swayze=Magic! I don’t understand how this wasn’t nominated for any Academy Awards. “Vaya con Dios, Brah.”

2. Forrest Gump

I think that this movie, subconsciously, is the reason I became a special education teacher. The scene where Forrest asks Jenny if their son is “smart, or….” with that look of horror!? It makes me weep. Big, gulping-air sobs. I want to crawl in through that screen and hold his hand to my heart so he can feel how much I love him exactly as he is. Sigh…

3. Bad Boys (always 1, but occasionally 2 if I’m in the right mood)

I’m not sure if this is evidence of a childhood misspent or well spent, but I am not exaggerating when I say that I knew this entire film by heart when I was 11 years old. 15 years later, the sight of Will Smith chasing after a kidnapped Tea Leoni wearing an unbuttoned purple silk shirt still gets me going. (Just to clarify–he’s wearing the shirt, not her, though admittedly that would be pretty hot…)

4. Saved!

Cassandra: There’s only one reason Christian girls come down to the Planned Parenthood! Roland: She’s planting a pipe bomb!?

5. Tommy Boy

Another childhood favorite. Chris Farley, David Spade, Rob Lowe. Laughter induced stomach ache guaranteed.

Now excuse me, I have some wine to pour and a movie to cue up…

xo

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

2 responses »

  1. I love your book suggestions but question your movie suggestions!

    Reply
  2. Mrs. Hirsch, you must have thought ew were really odd children with all of our movie choices! Cait, I wish I could come snuggle and watch The Newsies right now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

