RSS Feed

Cupcake Ice Cream Cones

Listen, I spend over $1 per ounce for the best Dutch cocoa. In a fire, I’d definitely grab my Cuisinart before my laptop, jewelry, or even my boyfriend. And in a week of insanity, I baked a 3-flavor, 9-layer wedding cake in my teeny tiny Manhattan kitchen.

I know (and love) quality baking……………………..But I also know that there is a time and place for this:

         

Last Friday my students earned a treat from me, and I thought it would be a really fun start to 2012 to make them cupcake ice cream cones! I made a batch of vanilla and a batch of chocolate, and while the base is a boxed cake mix, I promise they are still super tasty. And check out the smiles at the end!

Ingredients

1 package cake mix
1 package instant pudding mix in a coordinating flavor
1 cup sour cream
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup warm water
18 jumbo or 24 regular sized cake cones
frosting and toppings

Directions                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Preheat oven to 350. Set up your cones (detailed instructions/photos below). Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl using a spatula. Fill cones 3/4 full. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into center comes out clean. Completely cool before frosting and decorating.

Yep, that’s it.

   

Now, the only tricky part is setting up your cones so they don’t topple over. Until I patent my cupcake ice cream cone pan and hawk it on QVC, use the MacGyver method: Take an ordinary 9 x 13 baking pan and securely wrap in foil.

Next, take a pair of scissors and cut small slits in columns, about 4 inches apart.

In each opening, push a cone in. The foil will hold on to it securely.

                         

Ta-da!

Honestly, I was pretty pleased with myself for this one. I was NOT pleased that I forgot to take pictures filling the cones up, however…I also forgot to take pictures of the frosting I used–Duncan Hines whipped frosting. You can, of course, decorate these to the nines. Pipe on frosting to look like soft serve. Drizzle caramel and fudge sauce. Top with whipped cream and cherry. But I had to package and haul these 36 treats to work, so I kept it simple with just a sprinkling of colored balls. I heard no complaints.

                    

About chicsmarts

favorite curiosities: taxidermy, dia de los muertos, teacups, bbq, general oddities, three tier cakes, and anything that sparkles.

Leave a Reply

